Quinn Gutman

Composer, Soprano and Visual Artist

Back to All Events

Humanity: The Experience and Development Thereof

  • Oberlin Conservatory 77 W College St Oberlin, OH, 44074 United States (map)

Experience a highly collaborative concert touching on issues in evolution, humanity, humanity's relationship with the world as we know it, humanity's companionship with animals and relation to fiction vs reality. The pieces featured are as follows:



Text by Zachariah Claypole White

Fixed Electronics by Nicole Gutman

Julia Reddin, performer

A short electroacoustic piece narrating one's experiences going through an airport from the arrival to the the plane's take-off.


Inside and Outside the Monkey Cage: An Experiment in Four Cycles

Text by Jay Ray Shapiro

Music by Nicole Gutman

1. The Substitute

3. The Hunt

Ryn McWirter and Nicole Gutman, dancers

4. The Subcontinent

Nicolas Randrianarivelo, singer

Chelsea de Souza, chanter

Jay Ray Shapiro, rapper

Benny Craig, percussion

Three of four cycles touching on human evolution and how it became what it is now.


Warbler Woman

Text by Louise Ling Edwards

Music by Nicole Gutman

Nicole Gutman, voice

Lenny Ranallo, guitar

Benny Craig, vibraphone

A short piece narrating a legend of a mysterious, but also life-giving half-bird/half-human.


Tesla in Love

Text by Nicholas Bassman

Music by Nicole Gutman

James Martin Vitz-Wong, dancer

Justin Weiss, conductor

Kelsey Burnham, flute

Daphne Pickens, violin

Stephanie Atwood, violin

Tommy Chafe, viola

Linnea Scott, cello

A dance piece narrating a moment toward the end of the life of Nikola Tesla when he meets a very special pigeon.

Later Event: June 25
SICPP Iditarod