Quinn Gutman

Composer, Soprano and Visual Artist

Solo Voice

A Cappella Arias (current project), for unaccompanied voice

  • The Thing About Cats (2017) (text by John L'Heureux) 2’

  • Witness (2017) (text by Quinn Gutman) 2’

  • Mowing (2017) (text by Robert Frost) 2’

  • Talk (2018) (text by D. H. Lawrence) 1’

  • Three Things to Remember (2018) (text by William Blake) 1’

Warbler Woman (2016) (text by Louise Edwards) for soprano, acoustic guitar, and vibraphone or soprano and piano. 5’

Tesla in Love (2016) (text by Nicholas Bassman) soprano/tenor, flute, and string quartet. 10’

Somebody…? Anybody…? (2014) for one person on flute and soprano. 10’

Where will Rest the Wanderer? (2013) (original text by Heinrich Heine, translation by Joseph Auslander) for boy soprano, oboe, guitar, and piano. 9’

Parting at Morning (2013) (text by Robert Browning) for mezzo-soprano, flute, and clarinet. 5’

The Eagle that is Forgotten (2012) (text by Vachel Lindsey) for soprano, flute, and 2 guitars. 6’


The Akosta Cats (2017) (text by Louise Edwards) for soprano, piano, and fixed electronics. 8’

Departure (2016) (text by Zachariah Claypole White) for fixed electronics and performer. 4’

Inside and Outside the Monkey Cage (2016) (texts by Raymond Chira) for fixed electronics, voices, and percussion. 13’

Identities (2015) for live electronics and spoken voice.

Hunting and Chasing (2013) for fixed electronics. 2’

Motion in Sound and Sight (2013) for fixed electronics, piano, and percussion. 10’

Soliloquy (2013) for live electronics.

Wood and Tin Noise (2012) for fixed electronics. 1’

Past and Present (2012) for fixed electronics, soprano, violin, and piano. 4’


Truth is… (2019) open instrumentation. Open duration. In collaboration with Stephanie Svorinić

wine/line(in)gradients (2014) open instrumentation. Open duration.


What is G-d? (2018) for SATB Choir. Commissioned by Quorum Boston. 5’

Music, When Soft Voices Die (2011) (text by Percy Bysshe Shelley) for SATB Choir. 3’


Riven Driftwood (2014) (Libretto By Louise Edwards) for soprano, straight-tone soprano, mezzo-soprano, baritone, violin, viola, bass viola da gamba, cello, bass, 2 percussion, clarinet, guitar, and 2 piano. 32’


The Toys We Played With (2019) for flute and cello.

7 Banned Words (2018) for voice and vibraphone. 2’

The Immortal (2017) for string quartet 5’

The Writer (2016) for piano and percussion. 6’

Tossing and Turning (2016) for solo percussion. Commissioned by Evan Miller. 6’

Let’s Keep in Touch (2015) for percussion quartet.9’

Alone Amongst Everyone Else (2015) for percussion trio. 8’

Sandpipers (2015) for flute, clarinet and violin. 10’

It’s Coming (and You Can’t Ignore it) (2014) for string quartet and bassoon. 9’

There’s Nothing to be Afraid of… (2013) for cello and 2 percussion. 10’

To Unity (2013) for piano, cello, and tuba. 6’

Breaking Habits (2012) for violin and viola or bass clarinet and cello. 6’

Abnormal Day (2012) for solo clarinet. 3’

7 Bagatelles (2011) for flute, clarinet, viola, cello, and piano. 7’

Monkey and Zookeeper (2011) for flute and bass guitar. 2’